C.S. Lewis om Guds forsyn og den frie viljen

C.S. Lewis om Boethius sitt — og sikkert sitt eige — syn på forholdet mellom Guds forsyn og vår frie vilje. The Discarded Image; IV,D (s. 89):

Eternity is quite distinct from perpetuity, from mere endless continuance in time. Perpetuity is only the attainment of an endless series of moments, each lost as soon as it is attained. Eternity is the actual and timeless fruition of illimitable life. Time, even endless time, is only an image, almost a parody, of that plenitude; a hopeless attempt to compensate for the transitoriness of its ‘presents’ by infinitely multiplying them. That is why Shakespeare’s Lucrece call it ‘thou ceaseless lackey to eternity’ (Rape, 967). And God is eternal, not perpetual. Strictly speaking, He never foresees; He simply sees. Your ‘future’ is only an area, and only for us a special area, of His infinite Now. He sees (not remembers) your yesterday’s acts because yesterday is still ‘there’ for Him; He sees (not foresees) your tomorrow’s acts because He is already in tomorrow. As a human spectator, by watching my present act, does not at all infringe its freedom, so I am none the less free to act as I choose in the future because God, in that future (His present) watches me acting.

Kjelde:
C.S. Lewis, The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (Cambridge University Press, 1964; Canto edition, 1994)

3 comments on “C.S. Lewis om Guds forsyn og den frie viljen

  1. Nicolas says:

    C.S.Lewis fremstår bare mer og mer oppskrytt i mine øyne, med all respekt🙂 Det eneste argumentet over gjør, er jo å flytte synspunktet på nuet.

    Utgangspunktet: Gud ser alle øyeblikkene jeg befinner meg i og vet dermed hva jeg kommer til å gjøre
    Lewis’ argument: I alle øyeblikkene jeg befinner meg i, er Gud til stede. Og ettersom han er evig og uforanderlig visste han hva jeg kom til å gjøre før jeg gjorde det.

    Svaret på spørsmålet “kan jeg bruke min frie vilje til å velge noe annet enn det Gud allerede vet jeg vil gjøre?” blir jo fortsatt “Niks”.

  2. Du har et poeng, men det blir jo berre svada. For er det Gud som foresakAr at du gjer det? Dersom eig kunne reise i tida og dersom eg i tillegg filma deg heile døgeret, betyr det at det er eg som foresakar det du gjer? Viss ikkje, kva er då problemet?

  3. Nicolas says:

    Nå er jeg åpenbart litt djevelens advokat her. Jeg påpeker bare en inkonsekvens her, iom at jeg får høre nettopp slike argumenter (som jeg fremla) når jeg påstår at verden er deterministisk.

Leave a Reply

